Recipe: Crispy Meatloaf

I seem to be on a comfort-food roll.

Might be because I’m getting over the world’s most irritating cold.  Or because it’s getting chillier outside and I know how long Chicago winters are…

In an case, this recipe is simply yummy and very satisfying.  Without the parmesan (an there isn’t a lot), it’s Phase 1, so really pretty healthy.

If you’re anything like me (and my husband), and you like your protein, then this recipe with serve 2 people (maybe with a little leftover for lunch).  If you have a bigger family, just double it, but make 2 separate meatloafs on the baking sheet.  I’ve tried making one big one and it was not the best idea I’ve ever had 🙂

This recipe also uses quinoa flakes instead of bread crumbs.  I use them in most recipes that call for bread crumbs with the exception of coating chicken or eggplant, etc.  They’re gluten-free and good on Phase 1.  Here’s what to look for at the store if you’ve never seen a box…it’s usually with the oatmeal.  Make sure you don’t pick up quinoa flour (which is good for some recipes, just not as a substitute for bread crumbs).

1 lb ground grass-fed beef
1 medium onion, grated
1/4 cup + 1 teaspoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1/4 cup  + 1 tablespoon grated parmesan
1 egg, beaten
1/2 cup quinoa flakes
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400°.  Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with non-stick spray.  Mix all ingredients (except 1 tsp tomato paste and 1 tbsp parmesan) and season with salt and pepper.  Make sure the egg/tomato paste/onion is mixed into the beef, otherwise you’ll get these tough bites of hamburger.  Form into a flat rectangle ~9in long, so it is uniform in thickness and will cook evenly.  Season with salt and pepper.   Spread remaining tomato paste on top and sprinkle remaining parmesan. Season with salt and pepper.  Bake 40-50 minutes.

My favorite part is the end…it’s definitely a little crispy.  I can’t stand soggy meatloaf…which is probably why I like the free form version better than the one made in a loaf pan.

But don’t take my word for it.  Take 5 minutes and whip one of these up for yourself and let me know what you think!

What’s in your meatloaf? (Or shouldn’t I ask???)

2 responses to “Recipe: Crispy Meatloaf

  1. That looks really good- got leftovers?? I’m staying up here tonight! I made a really good turkey meatloaf a while back with spinach and sundried tomatoes- yum.

Leave a Reply

