Recipe: Roasted Vegetables

Now that the weather has gotten a bit colder, I’ve switched from some type of green salad for dinner to roasting some vegetables. 

There are so many combinations of vegetables and spices that you could literally make a different vegetable dish every fall or winter evening.

Last night, I wanted a little of everything, so I used red and yellow onion, garlic, red peppers, broccoli, butternut squash and carrots.  I tossed them with some olive oil, spread them out on a sheet pan and used salt, pepper, garlic powder and thyme.  That seems to be my go-to spice combination.  It’s familiar and safe.  And I know my husband will eat it 🙂  I roasted them at 450° for 20-25 minutes and they were delicious 🙂

What could be easier than pulling out an assortment of vegetables from your frig and chopping them?  This is why I make them 4-5 times a week.  I’m a bit lazy.  But I also know what tastes good.  And is healthy 🙂

I realize this isn’t so much a recipe as a technique.  I have an ulterior motive.  I need to branch out from my “safe” spice combinations and try some new ones.  So,

What are your favorite spices to use on roasted vegetables?

One response to “Recipe: Roasted Vegetables

  1. try roasting asparagus and carrots (at a high temp) with olive oil, sea salt (make sure you are using celtic or one of the other ones with great minerals) and pepper… when it comes out sprinkle with parmesan and lemon – soooooo good 🙂

Leave a Reply

