Recipe: Homemade Chicken with “Rice” Soup

Ok, I didn’t really use rice.  But it was cold and rainy outside and because my cold is still hanging on for dear life, I wanted chicken with something soup.  

This is Day 10, for anyone keeping count…yikes!  I truly believe the reason this one is so brutal is because I was in Vancouver when it started and I didn’t have my stash of homeopathic remedies that I usually take when I feel that first sign of a cold. (On top of not being in control of my meals for 4 days!)  By the time I got home, it was Day 4 and the cold germs were already invested in seeing this one through 🙂  But I digress…

This soup tastes just like chicken with rice, except there’s more “rice”.  I used buckwheat, because it’s a seed (not a grain) and very healthy for you. (So it’s good for the Phase 1 diet.)

2 tablespoons olive oil
2 medium onions, chopped
2 large shallots, chopped
2 cloves of garlic
5 carrots, chopped
4 ribs of celery, chopped
2 teaspoons Bells Seasoning
2 bay leaves

1 lb organic, free range chicken, cut into bit size pieces
1 cup buckwheat

4 cups chicken broth
4 cups water
salt and pepper

In a large pot or dutch oven, heat 1 tbsp of olive oil over medium heat.  Saute all vegetables until soft and lightly browned.  Season with salt and pepper and 1 teaspoon of Bells Seasoning.  Remove from the pot.  Add remaining tablespoon of olive oil and brown the chicken pieces.  Season with salt and pepper and remaining teaspoon of Bell’s Seasoning.  Add 1 cup of broth and scrape the brown bits from the bottom of the pan.  Add remaining 3 cups of broth and 2 cups of water.  Add buckwheat and the bay leaves and bring to a boil. Simmer for 30 minutes, adding more water as buckwheat absorbs liquid.  Makes about 6 servings.

 

Not sure about buckwheat? It’s a seed, but like quinoa, looks more like a grain. (And you also need to rinse it in cold water before cooking it, just like quinoa.)  It even says “Whole Grain” on the package. (My box of quinoa does too.) I don’t know what’s worse: that companies put whole grains on their boxes to entice people to buy them, or that the manufacturers don’t know what type of product they’re producing?! 

Buckwheat is a seed from a plant related to rhubarb.  It’s high in fiber and protein, and supplies essential amino acids.  It is also a great source of the bioflavonoid rutin. And it’s gluten free.

As for the Bell’s Seasoning, it’s a salt free blend of rosemary, oregano, sage, ginger, marjoram, thyme and pepper. Much easier than adding them all separately 🙂

So next time you’re feeling a tickle in your nose or the weather outside is frightful, whip up a pot of this soup. It really doesn’t take much time at all (it’s really only chopping), and it’s quite hearty because of the buckwheat. And you’ll have enough to last for a few days……

Do you make homemade soup or do you crack open a can of soup?

5 responses to “Recipe: Homemade Chicken with “Rice” Soup

  1. Isn’t there something in chicken that actually is good for immune support? I think I heard that once. 🙂 Hope you’re starting to feel better today!

  2. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  3. I love homemade chicken soup! I’ve never made it with buckwheat but your soup sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

