The Berry and Veggie Smoothie Your Kids Will Love

How many of you have trouble getting your kids to eat fruits and/or vegetables? 

I don’t have that trouble, per se, but my kids have definite opinions: broccoli, peas (sometimes) or kale chips for dinner and carrots, celery (sometimes) or red peppers for lunch.  Lettuce and spinach haven’t hit their radar yet.

UNLESS the spinach is hidden, like in the Deceptively Delicious Brownies…OR in these smoothies!

1 1/2 cup water
1 serving grass-fed whey protein powder
1 1/2 cup frozen organic mixed berries
1/2 cup frozen pineapple
1 cup frozen organic spinach
1 cup greek yogurt

Blend until thoroughly mixed and serve immediately. Makes 4 servings.

My kids love these! 

If you use larger amounts of darker berries (blueberries and blackberries), the green flecks from the spinach will be hidden better. Today I had mostly raspberries and strawberries, so my smoothies were lighter pink and the flecks were seen (but I told them it was the blueberry). 

I’m not sure why I didn’t just fess up, but this was only the second time I’d added a vegetable to their favorite afternoon snack and I wanted to make sure they liked them before the truth came out–this way IF they whine next time, I can remind them that they did, in fact, like them quite bit 🙂

These could easily be served for breakfast because of the protein powder.  Although if you’re thinking about drinking these in the car, they are a bit messy…mine are pretty thick so sometimes they eat them with a spoon. But you could use more liquid (you could even use almond or coconut milk to make them even more healthful–but we have a nut allergy, so we stick with water).

I think I’m going to freeze the leftovers into popsicles.  The kids will like those for dessert one night…

Are you a strictly berry smoothie lover or have you ventured into the vegetable realm for your frozen concoctions?

5 responses to “The Berry and Veggie Smoothie Your Kids Will Love

  1. You know what’s funny? These are actually all over the blog world! Although, I have to say that yours look better than those that are entirely green- I’m sorry, I just eat with my eyes first! And I can attest to the fact that your smoothies are really good. 🙂

  2. I love smoothies! I usually have a “no veggies in my smoothie” policy but I recently conquered my fear of green juice and am kinda obsessed with blending and juicing green things now. Sadly my blender just died but as soon as I find a suitable replacement I’m definitely making these!!!

  3. Pingback: What My Kids Eat For a Snack « good sense good health

Leave a Reply

