Recipe: Egg Crepes

I love crepes. Filled with berries, maybe a dusting of powdered sugar….my dad is the best crepe maker in town.

Since I’m following the Phase 1 diet 99% of the time, I only indulge in a crepe at the holidays.

But I love the idea of wrapping my food up in a neat little package, so I tried to think of a flour-less crepe with a savory filling.

I made this for breakfast this morning and it was DELICIOUS (and all Phase 1 ingredients). [And see the update at the end…I made them the next day too with some minor changes, as reflected below.] This recipe will make 3 crepes:

1/2 large onion, chopped
1 shallot, chopped
1/2 cup carrot, grated
1/2 cup fresh spinach
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon water
5 teaspoon olive oil, divided
2-3 tablespoon butter, divided
Salt and pepper

Heat a 10″ skillet* over medium heat and add 2 teaspoons of olive oil.  Add carrots for 1-2 minutes and add spinach. Season with salt and pepper. Cook until spinach wilts.   Remove to a plate or bowl.

Add olive oil (~1 teaspoon) and a tablespoon of butter (enough so it’s coated halfway up the side of the pan).  Whisk eggs and add water and add 1/3  of egg mixture to the pan. Roll around to coat the pan (a thin layer, pour back any excess). The egg will pick up the flavors from the vegetables, so seasoning isn’t necessary. Cook just until set and loosen around the edges with a spatula. Spoon 1/3 of filling into crepe while it’s still in the pan and use 2 spatulas to roll veggies into a crepe and enjoy!

I will confess that my first crepe was fairly pathetic (hence the solo crepe in the picture)…it will take some practice to get it out of the pan in one pretty piece. (Probably because our cast iron pan needs another round or two of seasoning.)  On the second crepe, I added the veggie mixture into the crepe while it was still in the pan and used a spatula to roll it. Worked much better for me.

I think other recipes for egg crepes call for cornstarch and/or sugar to make it a bit heartier, but since corn and sugar are not allowed on my diet, I’ll stick with the thin crepe.

The flavors reminded me of fried rice (or moo shu pork, minus the pork), even though I didn’t use any soy sauce.  I used the veggies I had in my frig, but I think red peppers or some asparagus would taste good too. I might also add a little sesame oil at the end.

The ingredients for this recipe are very similar to an omelet, but somehow it tastes completely different. I think it’s because the egg is so thin, the vegetables really shine in this recipe. Omelets are more about the egg.

Paired with a few berries, this is the perfect breakfast. Try it and let me know what you think (and if you tried some spices or different veggies)!

* Hopefully you’ve found a good alternative to the teflon non-stick pans which release toxic fumes at high temperatures. A well seasoned cast iron skillet or a non-stick pan that is PTFE and PFOA Free is much healthier to use…

UPDATE:  These were so good that I made them 2 days in a row.  I changed the recipe slightly on Day 2 to 2 eggs and olive oil in addition to the butter to ensure the crepe didn’t stick (I changed the recipe to reflect this).  I also added 1/4 finely chopped red pepper.  I found that adding the filling to the crepe while it’s still in the pan and rolling it with 2 spatulas made it so much easier. Anyway, they came out PERFECTLY. Too bad my husband took our camera this morning. They were a work of art!

2 responses to “Recipe: Egg Crepes

  1. Yum- good idea! I should totally make that for breakfast tomorrow. 🙂 Hey, how often do you eat eggs for bfast?

  2. I eat eggs 2 or 3 times a week. On the other days I have a smoothie (with grass fed whey protein powder and berries), leftovers from dinner or a rice cake with almond butter and some berries……

Leave a Reply

