The Benefits of Astaxanthin

I have a confession to make.

I can’t actually pronounce Astaxanthin.  I sound a bit absurd going into the Vitamin Shoppe and babbling syllables over and over again until one of the staff shushes me (nicely, of course) and points me in the right direction.

Sure, if you’re looking at the word, you can slowly sound out the syllables (“as tuh xan thin”). But I don’t usually shop with note cards.

ANYWAY, here’s the scoop.  Astaxanthin is a dye naturally made by marine algae.  When salmon, shellfish and flamingoes eat this algae, it gives them their pink color.

Studies show that this supplement:

  • Can cross the blood-brain barrier (getting through the layer of cells around your brain and flushes toxins which contribute to Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, ALS, multiple sclerosis, and lupus)
  • Can improve eye health and slows macular degeneration
  • Is anti-inflammatory
  • Is a powerful antioxidant
  • Increases strength and endurance
  • Boosts immune system
  • Reduces the risk for cardiovascular disease
  • Can help carpal tunnel syndrome symptoms
  • Can ease allergy symptoms
  • Has no known side effects
  • Acts like a natural sunscreen

Since astaxanthin is fat soluble, it must be taken with a meal (that includes fat) so your body will absorb it.

If you’re re-evaluating the supplements you’re taking, ask your doctor if this one would be good to add to your regimen.

But remember that without changing your lifestyle and diet, you won’t be able to reap the full benefit of added supplements 🙂

3 responses to “The Benefits of Astaxanthin

  1. Okay, I’m NEVER going to be able to pronounce that either but I’m definitely going to pick some up. Or maybe buy it online. 🙂 I found your blog through Megan and am so glad I did! Between the two of you, you just might save me some $$$ and help improve my health. 🙂 THANK YOU! Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Pingback: My Bare Essential Supplements and Vitamins « good sense good health

Leave a Reply

