I’m Going On a Picnic…

It’s Date Night. YAY!

We’re headed to Ravinia, which is an outdoor concert park just north of Chicago, where you can sit on the lawn with a picnic and relax under the stars, listening to the Chicago Symphony, Lyle Lovett or anything in between.

Tonight it’s a classical night, which is fine by me. It’s been a rather stressful week so far (and it’s only Tuesday, I know).

This is also the first time I’ve packed a picnic all summer and I am reminded how much more challenging it is without the obligatory sandwich and other standard picnic fare that revolves around carbs and sugar.

So far, I’ve made veggies with my sour cream dip, guacamole (and rice crackers? I don’t eat tortilla chips anymore, so I’ll have to think about an appropriate pairing), a fruit salad with four different kinds of berries and green apples, and a spinach salad with tomatoes and grilled chicken.  I also made some homemade chocolate covered almonds with just a drizzle of chocolate, so I’m sure those will be coming along as well.

Had we not just decided to go out, I may have planned a more interesting menu (maybe a chicken or steak lettuce wrap? barbecue shrimp salad?) but for a last-minute picnic, I think this one will do just fine.

Do you have any favorite low-carb picnic favorites? I’d love to hear them!

2 responses to “I’m Going On a Picnic…

  1. Kebabs! Any food that comes on a stick is good in my book. 🙂 PS, I have a pair of lawn tickets that need to be used by the end of the season if you want to go again!

  2. Cold kabobs? Hadn’t thought of that! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

