How Safe Is Your Sunscreen?

I used to be unprepared for that first really warm and sunny day.  If you’re not from the Chicagoland area, you probably can’t relate.  But Chicago doesn’t do Spring very well.  We get a couple days of wow-life-is-good weather and then an 85° day just creeps up on you and says, “Boo!”

So I’d inevitably make a mad dash to the store and buy whatever sunscreen was on sale.

And then my friend, Andrea, told me about the Environmental Working Group website.  This website rates sunscreen (and lotion, shampoo/conditioner, cosmetics, self-tanners, nail polish, etc.) on a scale of 0-10.  A low number has been shown to have few or no cancer causing agents as ingredients.

I was shocked by the number of products I used that were in the dangerous 7-9 zone.  Some of my kids’ products were even in the 5, 6, 7 range!  So, being the loving and caring (and somewhat irrational) mom that I am, I started chucking bottles. I kept a pen and paper handy to write down what I would need to replace and went that afternoon to stock back up.

Now it’s early August, and I feel good with the sunscreen I’m putting on my kids (and me). I had checked the EWG site in May and on a leisurely trip to Target, I bought 4 bottles of sunscreen to last us all summer.

So when you get a chance, check out that website.  I wonder how many of you have no harmful products in your bathroom…or how many of you will throw away those high rated products!  It’s expensive to replace them, but think of it as an investment in your health.

One response to “How Safe Is Your Sunscreen?

  1. I was just reading an article about this yesterday. You can actually find good prices on some of the all-natural products at places like Trader Joe’s (and we all know how obsessed I am with TJ’s, so I would know…bwahaha).

Leave a Reply

