What’s In That Bag Of Chips

I’ve spent a leisurely afternoon swimming off our dock and watching the kids try to slither their way onto my husband’s raft.

Vacations are good.

Eating habits while on vacation? Hmm. I’ll take the 5th.

I try to eat well. Really I do. (Most of the time….)

But I find that the kids don’t do so well without Chef Kim in the kitchen. Sure, I make sure they’ve had a couple servings of fruits and veggies each day, but then a bag of chips seems to make its way onto their plates at lunch.

While waiting for my youngest to eat a 3″ carrot stick over the course of 5 minutes, I picked up his bag of chips. Same ones I used to gobble up when I was younger, licking that powdery coating off until my tongue turned unnatural colors.

MSG. Red, yellow AND blue dye. Corn syrup solids. Artificial flavors. Sugar. A total of 26 ingredients, some of which I couldn’t pronounce.

I knew these chips weren’t high on the nutritional list…but wow.

I’ve found that the potato-based (as opposed to the corn-based) chips usually have fewer ingredients.  Unless they’re sour cream and onion, cheddar, cool ranch….

So next time you’re at the grocery store needing that salty fix, look for one that has 3 ingredients. Potatoes. Oil. Salt. That’s all you really need for a really good chip.

And try the chips with a healthy dip. OR try some kale chips or crispy cauliflower.  You might be surprised to find that you don’t necessarily crave the potato as much as the salt.

Leave a Reply

