Recipe: Healthy Sour Cream and Onion Vegetable Dip

I grew up on Hidden Valley. Not the actual place (does it even exist?), but dipping everything from vegetables to chicken nuggets and even fish sticks in the ever-present puddle on my plate.

Then I got older and graduated to the dips you make out of the powder packets.

I’m a BIG fan of the sour cream and spice flavor.

But now that I’m a new, healthier version of ME, I’ve come up with a recipe that has all of the flavors, but none of the artificial ingredients or MSG. This recipe is great with red peppers, carrots, celery, crunchy potato chips…you name it.

1 16 oz container of sour cream*
1/3 cup chopped chives
2 teaspoons of dried chopped onion
1 teaspoon of garlic powder
Salt to taste

Mix all the ingredients together and refrigerate at least 1 hour.

* Go for the real, full fat sour cream. When you buy anything low-fat/reduced fat, they’ve inevitably taken something real out and replaced it with an artificial ingredient. So enjoy the good stuff, just eat a healthy amount and don’t go overboard!

I happen to like this combination of flavors, but play around with your spices if you like more garlic, or want to try a seasoned salt. And let me know if you come up with another good dip!

2 responses to “Recipe: Healthy Sour Cream and Onion Vegetable Dip

  1. I think we both inherited that gene. 🙂 I just bought some sour cream- I think I know its destiny now. I’m sorry- what was that about portion sizes?

  2. Hehe. You’re better with portion control than I usually am!

Leave a Reply

