Coconut Water Taste Test

While shopping a while back, I saw a display of coconut water.  I had only heard of coconut milk, and I was intrigued. I bought a few brands to see how they would taste and then did a little research…

Did you know that coconut water is:

  1. The clear liquid inside a young coconut
  2. A natural sports drink, perfect for re-hydration. It has more electrolytes than your average sports drink, without the added sugar, artificial sweeteners, preservatives or dyes.
  3. Gluten-Free
  4. Loaded with Potassium, Magnesium, Vitamin C, Iron, Calcium (depending on the brand).
  5. Low Sodium
  6. No fat, low calorie
  7. No cholesterol
  8. And get this…It’s been used as IV fluid in the tropics when medical saline was low in supply

These were the three I picked up:

I made sure that they were good and cold (I’ve been told they taste MUCH better chilled.)

And then I wrote A, B, C on the bottom of my very fancy cups:

Yup. Those are cookie monster cups. I was out of Elmo.

Then I mixed them up well as I answered a telemarketing call.

The results?

C2O (A) was a very strong coconut flavor, pretty sweet, a little nutty, and was a little syrupy

Vitacoco (B) was more delicate, just the right amount of coconut flavor, almost like fruit juice, lighter

Blue Monkey (C) very similar to A

I’m not a particularly huge fan of a strong coconut flavor, so Vitacoco was my favorite of these three.

I looked at the labels, and A and C both had roughly the same amount of potassium (290mg), 2% calcium, no Vitamin C, and some iron.

B had almost double the potassium (515mg), slightly more calcium (4%), a whopping 175% of Vitamin C and 8% magnesium.

So go out and try some.  If you decide to follow the Phase 1 diet, this is a great alternative to water.  I’ve heard it’s great with a wedge of lime (but we didn’t have any in the house so I can’t speak from experience).  Or if you’re just trying to make smaller changes to your diet, switch out the soda or sweetened iced tea for coconut water.

Let me know what you think of coconut water AND if you can recommend another brand that’s yummy!

2 responses to “Coconut Water Taste Test

  1. Pingback: Elderberry Taste Test « good sense good health

  2. Pingback: Some Things I’ve Learned in 2011… « good sense good health

Leave a Reply

