Recipe: Crispy Roasted Cauliflower

Cauliflower was always one of those vegetables that would get passed to me at the table at Thanksgiving and it wouldn’t stop near my plate. Just kept on going.

I think it was a consistency issue. Rather mushy.

Then I started roasting vegetables and thought I’d revisit the one I had ignored for so long.

And after researching, I found out that cauliflower:

  1. Contains sulforaphane which a study showed reduced breast cancer tumors in rats by 40%.  It also helps to flush toxins that may harm healthy cells so they don’t become cancerous.
  2. Contains indole-3-carbinol (abbreviated to 13C) which is an anti-estrogen. High levels of estrogen has been shown to promote tumor growth.
  3. Is a powerful antioxidant containing Vitamin C and Manganese
  4. Is anti-inflammatory
  5. Supports cardiovascular health
  6. Promotes digestion

Here’s a recipe I made one day and it was so yummy, I made it the next day too. (And then I remembered the research about cauliflower containing purines which will break down to produce uric acid…you may develop gout with too much uric acid.) So I didn’t make it again that week.

1 head of cauliflower, florets cut in bit site pieces
3 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon celery seed
1/4 teaspoon cumin
Salt and pepper

Mix spices separately. Place cauliflower and olive oil in a bowl to coat.  Sprinkle spice mixture in and mix together. Place cauliflower on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 425° for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown.

This was my snack this afternoon. Crunchy. Healthy. Yum.

4 responses to “Recipe: Crispy Roasted Cauliflower

  1. Ok I will try these tomorrow!

  2. These were delicious! I should have made more because I gobbled them up in no time flat. I will be making these again soon!

  3. Pingback: What’s In That Bag Of Chips | good sense good health

  4. Pingback: The Family that Roasts Together « Braise the Roof

Leave a Reply

