Recipe: Baked Kale Chips

I always walked by the kale/collard greens section in the grocery store and made a beeline for the spinach. That’s the safe one that I understand well.

And then my sister made some kale chips one day and I (rather unwillingly, I might add) nibbled on one. And then finished off an entire baking sheet. They’re that good.

If you’re trying to cut out the chips and pretzels, and want something salty, make these. They’re super easy. You won’t be disappointed.

1 bunch of kale, washed and thoroughly dried
1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
Salt and pepper

Remove the leaves from the center rib and cut into chip sized pieces. Toss pieces in a large bowl with the olive oil.  Spread them in a single layer. Season with salt and pepper. Bake at 325° on a middle rack for 12-18 minutes (until they are crispy, but before they start to brown.

Sure, potato chips have that amazing instant gratification feeling, which quickly turns to “Why did I just polish off the entire bag of chips? Ugh.” Kale chips don’t make you feel that way. You’ll get your salty fix and be able to move on with your day. Plus kale has so many health benefits–they are cancer fighting, high in antioxidents, anti-inflammatory, support cardiovascular health…and the list go on.

Go ahead and make a batch. Eat them in front of your kids. Chances are, they’ll ask you for a bite. But…you may not want to share!

6 responses to “Recipe: Baked Kale Chips

  1. I am so happy that I could bring kale into your life. 🙂 Mom said you started experimenting with the different varieties- the lacinato is currently my favorite.

  2. Hi Kim – Love your blog idea. I just tried these kale chips – I have been meaning to make them for a while. I’ve mostly used small amounts of kale in smoothies, but this is much better. Surprisingly tasty! I even got the kids to eat “green chips.” 🙂 -Steph

  3. Oh goodness. Now there are varieties of kale? And I was so proud of myself for trying the one 🙂 Steph–glad you liked them! When I first got on the kale wagon, the boys begged me to make them everyday!

  4. I am going to make these Kale chips. We have tons of Kale in our vegetable garden (that my mother planted) and I am hoping this might be a way to get the kids and my husband to try it. If not, I know I will now. Thanks Kim!

  5. Pingback: What’s In That Bag Of Chips | good sense good health

  6. Pingback: What My Kids Eat For a Snack « good sense good health

Leave a Reply

