A Natural Cough Remedy

Have you ever looked at the ingredients for cough syrup?  High fructose corn syrup. Some red dye. Sucralose (an artificial sweetener). HFCS and an artificial sweetener seem like overkill, but what do I know.

So I set out to find a recipe for a natural cough remedy.  One that didn’t make me gag and actually made the coughing stop.  This is the one that worked best for me:

2 tablespoons Apple Cider Vinegar*
1 tablespoon Honey
1 teaspoon Lemon juice
1/4-1/2 cup warm water

Put the warm water in a small glass.  Add the other ingredients (the warm water will dissolve the honey) and stir until completely mixed. 

* There are several kinds of apple cider vinegar.  The one you should find for this recipe is Organic Raw Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar with The “Mother” (I use Braggs.)

The kids aren’t too fond of the vinegar, so I either add more honey for them, or a little apple juice.  Honey is very soothing, so I often give them some right off the spoon before bed.

4 responses to “A Natural Cough Remedy

  1. I use this as well. Katie certainly loves the taste more than the medicines we buy and if it’s better for them you have nothing to loose! Great start on the site….LOVE IT!!!

  2. I am so trying to get on board with the apple cider vinegar thing…I drank some in some water the other day and wanted to puke. I know it’s an acquired taste- I’m not there yet. 🙂

  3. Jackie, I’m happy to hear it works for you guys! Apple cider is an acquired taste. Megan, maybe you need a mantra while you’re drinking it…”It’s making me well, it’s making me well, it’s making me well…” Or just plug your nose.

  4. This blog is great! We all need to know that there is REAL FOOD for us to eat and remedies made out of REAL FOOD for our ailments, not just the processed options. Yay to Kim!

Leave a Reply

